Science Foundation Ireland

CONNECT Awards winners announced

CONNECT has recognised the achievements of several researchers in the 2019 CONNECT awards. Here are this year’s winners and the accompanying citation.

Prof. Saibal Roy

Prof. Tom Brazil Excellence in Research Award:
Prof. Saibal Roy (Funded Investigator, Tyndall)

This award is in recognition of Saibal’s contributions to magnetic-based energy harvesting and power conversions, which have resulted in a global patent and numerous articles in high impact journals.

Dr Donna O’Shea

Research Impact Award:
Dr Donna O’Shea (Funded Investigator, CIT)

This award is in recognition of Donna’s impact to Ireland’s cybersecurity landscape and her leadership in increasing the representation of women and members of the LGBTQ community in STEM.

Louise McGrath

CONNECT Education and Public Engagement Award:
Louise McGrath (PhD researcher, Tyndall)

This award is in recognition of the breadth and depth of Louise’s EPE activities in CONNECT, including creating her own demonstration kit to explain the use of micro-batteries in IoT devices, and inspiring young students to consider a career in STEM.

Dr Boris Galkin

CONNECT Education and Public Engagement Award:
Dr Boris Galkin (Research Fellow, TCD)

This award is in recognition of Boris’ work promoting CONNECT research on drone communications in the media and to young students considering a career in STEM, as well as serving as a champion for EPE to other CONNECT researchers.

CONNECT is the world leading Science Foundation Ireland Research Centre for Future Networks and Communications. CONNECT is funded under the Science Foundation Ireland Research Centres Programme and is co-funded under the European Regional Development Fund. We engage with over 35 companies including large multinationals, SMEs and start-ups. CONNECT brings together world-class expertise from ten Irish academic institutes to create a one-stop-shop for telecommunications research, development and innovation.

SFI Partner Logos SFI Partner Logos